Pioneer School

Since January 2016, Llangattock Church in Wales School has been part of the Pioneer Schools Network working with a range of other schools across Wales to develop and shape the future of Welsh education.

We are one of 60 schools selected to lead on the ‘new deal’ for the education workforce, which will ensure the teaching profession is supported and developed to confidently deliver the new curriculum and ensure teaching practitioners are offered high quality, professional learning opportunities throughout their careers.

A new curriculum for Wales is currently being developed by ‘Curriculum Pioneers’ with the aim of it being available to settings and schools by September 2018.

As a Professional Learning School we have been working closely with Curriculum Pioneers and will be trialling curriculum development in 2018.

It is Welsh Government’s ambition is that by 2022, schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16.

A New Curriculum-A Curriculum for Life

There are four core purposes at the heart of the new curriculum, to develop pupils who are:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The new curriculum will feature four key elements:

  • six areas of learning and experience from 3 to 16
  • three cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into six areas of learning and experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology (including computer science).